Orioles vs. Pirates: Lineups & Notes 3/25/21

The O’s are back on MASN tonight, as they play, once again, the Pittsburgh Pirates from beautiful Ed Smith Stadium in sunny Sarasota, FL.

The Birds took a tough loss in last night’s ballgame against the Boston Red Sox, the team they will play Opening Day at Fenway Park. Dean Kremer had another solid outing, going 4.2 innings and striking out five, while giving up two earned runs on five hits.

Talking about solid outings, O’s prospect Zac Lowther looked fantastic on the mound. He threw three scoreless, hitless innings in relief, along with one strikeout.

The offense was silent; there’s no other way to put it. Four singles is all the Birds could put up against an impressive showing from the Sox pitching staff.

Moving to today’s game, another young arm will start for the Birds, that being Keegan Akin. The lefty has pitched to a 5.40 ERA in 6.2 innings of work, with 11 strikeouts this spring. He’s given up four earned runs in those three games.

Other Orioles pitchers listed today are Tanner Scott, Paul Fry, Shawn Armstrong, and Rule 5 picks Mac Sceroler and Tyler Wells.

The Pirates will send Sean Poppen, who in eight innings this spring has given up four earned runs, pitching to a 4.50 ERA with six strikeouts.

In other news, “The Dark Knight” has made the team! Yes, veteran Matt Harvey was officially added to the 40-man roster today. The soon-to-be 32-year-old has pitched 10 innings of Grapefruit League action, striking out six and giving up six earned runs.

Also, veteran starter Wade LeBlanc has been granted his release from the team. We at The Baltimore Battery and all of Birdland wish Wade success in his future endeavors.

Here are today’s starting lineups:

Pittsburgh Pirates (12-10):
1. Anthony Alford LF
2. Erik González 2B
3. Phillip Evans RF
4. Todd Frazier 1B
5. Wilmer Difo 3B
6. Brian Goodwin CF
7. Tony Wolters C
8. Liover Peguero SS
9. Jared Oliva DH
SP. Sean Poppen RHP

Baltimore Orioles (8-14-1):
1. Cedric Mullins CF
2. Trey Mancini 1B
3. Ryan Mountcastle LF
4. Maikel Franco 3B
5. Austin Hays RF
6. Freddy Galvis SS
7. Pedro Severino C
8. Adley Rutschman DH
9. Pat Valaika 2B
SP. Keegan Akin LHP

Today’s game is available to watch on MASN and is also on the flagship station of the O’s, 105.7 The Fan. First pitch is scheduled for 6:05 p.m. EST.

Let’s Go O’s!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: